top of page
Writer's pictureCraftygirl

Snowman Window Hanger

This cute window hanger will make you smile on chilly winter days!


This is a good project for little hands to make because it's super easy and fun. My little brother, who normally shies away from crafts, enthusiastically helped me to make this, proving it's worth as an easy craft for young kids.


What You Need:

-three plastic lids

-white Tempera paint

-white school glue

-scissors

-disposable plastic container

-paintbrush

-clear packing tape or other types of clear tape

-two googly eyes

-orange eraser

-three pony beads

-black felt

-black pipe cleaner

-string or yarn

-hot glue gun


Instructions

The first thing I did was to cut the rims off three plastic lids and put a piece of clear tape over the straw inserts in two of the lids, leaving the third hole untouched.


Next my little brother mixed the glue and paint together in a disposable plastic container with a toothpick, although you could use the paintbrush if you wanted.

After that, we painted the glue/paint mixture onto each of the lids. My brother really got into this stage, smearing the paint around like a pro.

I pressed two googly eyes and an orange eraser nose into the still-wet lid that still had it's straw opening.


Then I pressed three pony beads onto one of the remaining circles and let all three lids dry. They curled up around the outside because my layers were really thin. If you don't want a crispy snowman, I'd suggest really laying the glue on.

I then bent a pipe cleaner in half and trimmed the ends so that they just hung over the snowman's shoulder. I bent the folded end and hot glued it to the plastic lid on one side, letting the loose ends of the pipe cleaner dangle freely on the other side like a scarf. After that, I cut a hat from the felt and hot glued it to the top of the head. This was a bit tricky with the curling edges, so it might be wiser to do this part yourself if you're making this craft with little kids, or you might end up with a broken snowman and lots of tears.

Finally, I taped all three lids together and looped a string through the hole in the snowman's head. This snowman doesn't have any arms, but feel free to add some if you want. And there you have it! A fun and easy Snowman Window Hanger for winter!


Winter Crafts

This craft is in the Winter crafts category, so be sure to check out the other projects I've made! One thing's for sure: winter is the time to get crafty!



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page