top of page
Writer's pictureCraftygirl

Nerf Birthday Party

Updated: Sep 8, 2020

These ideas for a Nerf birthday party are sure to bring hours of fun for you and your kids!

These ideas for a Nerf birthday party can be used all together or separately. They're budget-friendly, and can be done with two kids or twenty. Due to the pandemic this year, my little brother wasn't able to have a big birthday party. Instead, his friend came over and I surprised them with Nerf activities and games- Nerf being the theme my brother chose this year. I hope you stay safe and enjoy these fun activities!


Nerf Dart Shooting Game:


What You Need:

-blue construction paper

-orange construction paper

-clear tape

-scissors

-string

-masking tape or other strong tape


Instructions:

To make the darts, I cut a sheet of blue construction paper in half and rolled each piece into a tube. I secured the tubes with clear tape. I repeated this step to get four tubes. I then cut four strips of orange construction paper for the top of the darts. I wrapped the strips around the tubes and used clear tape to hold them in place. I took some thin string and tied a length around the middle of each tube, using clear tape to hold the string in place.

Finally, I used masking tape to hang my tubes from the ceiling.

And there you have it! A fun Nerf game!


Object of the Game:

The object of this game is simple: try to shoot a dart into or through each paper Nerf dart. The first person to get a dart in or through all four paper darts wins.


Nerf Laser Maze:


What You Need:

-orange crepe paper streamers

-blue crepe paper streamers

-clear tape

-masking tape

-scissors

-whiteboard with a target drawn on it or a paper target


Instructions:

The first thing I did was to hang up my streamers using different kinds of tape depending on the surface I was sticking the streamers to. To mark off my laser maze site, I hung a sheet across the room using string and masking tape. An advantage to using a sheet is that you can shield any messes you don't want your guests to see. Something to consider when using a sheet, however, is that it can be tricky to stick streamers to a sheet. I used tape, but you might try other means to get the streamers to stay. A sheet is also a lot more fragile than a wall, so if you have small kids going through the maze, you might want to skip the sheet altogether. Warning: You'll probably go through the maze dozens of times as you set it up! Once my maze was set up, I drew a large target on a white board and set it at the end of the maze.

And there you have it! A Nerf laser maze!

Object of the Game:

The object of this game is to go through the laser maze without touching any streamers. The person going through the maze will also try to shoot the bullseye on the target with their gun while ducking and weaving. The first person to do so wins.


Color Balloons Challenge:


What You Need:

-several balloons in orange, blue, or the birthday boy's favorite colors

-liquid food coloring

-water


Instructions:

The first thing I did was to put some food coloring into each balloon. I then filled them with water.

Be careful when you pull them off the faucet, or the balloon will spray colored water everywhere!!! (This might have happened to me more than once.) I chose orange and red balloons for this one because red is my brother's favorite color. You can stick with the orange and blue theme if you want, or you can branch out a little and choose balloons in the birthday boy (or girl's) favorite colors. (Who says Nerf is just for boys?) And there you have it! A messy color explosion for your Nerf party!


Object of the Game:

The object of this game is to try to hit the filled balloons with a nerf dart as they're dropped from a higher point. (e.g. a balcony) If you hit them, the result is a messy explosion! If you don't, they splatter on the pavement, and the same thing happens. They're going to get wet either way, so make sure they're wearing clothes that can get messy. NOTE: some of the balloons gave the boys trouble, so they smashed them with a hockey stick! If the balloons aren’t popping, you can try a piñata version to get them to burst.



Balloon Wall:

This decoration is pure fun!


What You Need:

-lots of balloons

-crepe paper streamers

-masking tape

-scissors


Instructions:

All I did to make this balloon wall was to tape a row of balloons on the ceiling and string a crepe paper streamer beneath them. I then taped the next row of balloons to the bottom of the streamer and repeated. You can go all the way down, or you can stop halfway like I did. The balloons and streamers can be strictly in Nerf colors or you can add some other colors in, like I did. I added red balloons because red is my brother's favorite color, but you can customize however you want!


Streamer Hallway:



What You Need:

-crepe paper streamers in orange and blue

-masking tape

-scissors


Instructions:

I feel like this one is pretty much self-explanatory: I strung four strands of streamers across the length of the hallway and hung more streamers down. This one was really fun to walk through, so it's a great option for younger kids.


Nerf Dart Javelin Throwing Contest

What You Need:

-An old blue pool noodle

-orange construction paper

-strong tape

-sharp scissors

-paper plate

-blue markers

-orange acrylic paint

-paintbrush


Instructions:

The first thing I did was to cut my pool noodle into equal lengths. Make sure you measure, or you'll end up with one really short section.

Next I cut strips of orange construction paper and taped them around one end of the pool noodle sections.

After that I drew a target on a paper plate using a blue marker and made the bullseye with orange acrylic paint. I taped up the target and there you have it! A fun Nerf game for older children!


Object Of The Game:

The point of the game is to throw the oversized Nerf darts at the target. The first person to do so wins. Another version of this game is to see how many times the kids can hit the bullseye in one minute.


The Cake

And of course, you can't forget the cake! My brother and I used a yellow cake mix we dyed orange, and then frosted the cake with blue icing. Finally, we got orange cookie icing and piped on the decorations for a simple but tasty Nerf cake.


Holiday Crafts

This post is in the Holiday Crafts category, so be sure to check out the other projects I've made! One thing's for sure: the holidays are the time to get crafty!


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page