top of page
Writer's pictureCraftygirl

Back To School Apple Cake Pops

These cute cake pops are a great back to school dessert!

These little green cake pops are a great dessert to send in your kids' lunches!


What You Need:

-12 pre-made vanilla cupcakes

-vanilla frosting- store bought or home made

-green food coloring

-ice cream scoop

-plastic wrap

-toothpicks

-green construction paper

-scissors

-hot glue gun


Instructions

The first thing I did was to make my vanilla cupcakes. I used a great recipe that makes 24 really moist cupcakes from Life, Love, and Sugar. You can click for the recipe here: www.lifeloveandsugar.com/moist-vanilla-cupcakes/

Once I had made my cupcakes, I started on my frosting. I added the green food coloring at this point. Red food coloring also works here. You can buy the frosting if you want, but if you need a good recipe, try the Vanilla Buttercream recipe from Betty Crocker. I used the one in her 2011 baking cookbook.


Then I crumbled up 12 cupcakes into the frosting and mixed it well with my hands. Make sure you wash your hands really well before you start mixing!

I used an ice cream scoop to form the cake pops, placing the completed pops on a plastic tray. I then chilled the cake pops in the freezer until firm, about 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, I cut little leaves out of green construction paper. You can either use a template or free hand your leaves.

I used hot glue to attach the leaves to the toothpicks.

When the cake pops were firm, I stuck the toothpicks into the pops.

And there you have it! Super cute and delicious desserts for school!


School Crafts

This recipe is in the School Crafts category, so be sure to check out the other projects I've made! One thing's for sure: even during school is the time to get crafty!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page