top of page
Writer's pictureCraftygirl

Pumpkin and Moon Cake

Updated: Oct 6, 2020

This beautiful cake is sure to bring on some fall spirit!

This cake took me a few days to make because I froze every layer of frosting before continuing. For best results, store in the fridge once you've made the cake. Otherwise, the frosting gets too droopy.


What You Need:

-Two cake mixes

-three containers store-bought frosting

-orange food coloring

-black writing gel

-triangle cracker

Instructions:

The first thing I did was to bake my cakes. I used some orange food coloring to make them the color of a pumpkin. When they were done, I set them out to cool. I ended up with four cakes. Once my cakes were cooled, I stacked three of the cakes on top of each other and covered them with a crumb coat- a.k.a. the first layer of frosting on a cake. I then froze them until the frosting had set, about 30 minutes.

I then covered the cakes with more white frosting until I was satisfied with the result.

I leaned my fourth cake up against the "moon" and used toothpicks to secure it. I then popped it in the freezer to harden.

Once my cakes were slightly less squishy, I used orange food coloring to turn my white frosting orange and covered my remaining cake in orange frosting.

Once the "pumpkin" had chilled, I used black writing gel to make the black pumpkin lines.

Finally, I stuck a triangle cracker in the top of the "pumpkin", and there you have it! A fun cake for Autumn!


Autumn Crafts

This recipe is in the Autumn Crafts category, so be sure to check out the other projects I've made! One thing's for sure: Autumn is the time to get crafty!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page