top of page
Writer's pictureCraftygirl

Milk Jug Bird House Kid's Craft

Updated: Apr 30, 2020

With Spring just around the corner, this bird house will invite cheery songbirds to your house!

This simple yet fun Kid's Craft is the perfect way to usher in Spring!


What You Need

-gallon milk jug

-scissors

-acrylic paint

-mod podge

-paintbrush

-small paper scrapbook flowers

-super glue


Instructions

The first thing I did was to wash and dry the milk jug.


Next I taped a little piece of duct tape over the top of the jug because I'd lost the lid. (I replaced it with another lid later.) I also cut a hole out of the side of the jug. There was already an indention in my jug, so I just took the tip of a knife and applied pressure there until the plastic gave way.

Next I painted the outside of the jug with acrylic paint. I left the labels on and just painted over them. That way I didn't have little bumps underneath the paint where the label had been before, because it's impossible to completely remove those labels. You might have to do two or more coats to completely cover the jug.

When it was dry, I attached my replacement lid to the top of the jug where the duct tape had been and painted it.

After that, I used some mod podge to glue some scrapbook flowers to the jug. Of course you can decorate the bird house however you like, whether with other kinds of scrapbook decorations, stencils, or stickers. This is the decorate-however-you-like step!

When the flowers were dry, I took some yarn and looped it around the lid. I tied it on, gave it a couple dabs of super glue to hold it in place, and hung up the bird house. And there you have it! A one of a kind house for your bird friends!


Spring Crafts

This craft is in the Spring Crafts category, so be sure to check out the other projects I've made! One thing's for sure: Spring is the time to get crafty!






1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page