top of page
Writer's pictureCraftygirl

Glow-in-the-Dark Father's Day Storage Jar- Kids' Craft

Updated: Jun 21, 2020

This fun and cheery storage jar is just the thing to give someone you love on Father's Day!

This fun gift is easy to make, and is something your father or father figure will actually be able to use! My papa is a guy who loves to use his hands, so he would use this jar to store little bits and pieces while he's working in his shop. (a.k.a. his garage.) The guy never ceases to amaze me. In his late sixties and still slaving out in the stuffy garage working on his beloved Razer every day. Oh, well. At least I know he'll use this Father's Day gift!


What You Need:

-empty plastic container and lid

-glow in the dark acrylic paint

-paintbrush

-mod podge

-hot glue gun

-googly eyes


Instructions

The first thing I did was to wash and dry my container and lid.

Next I painted them with a coat of acrylic paint. The first coat is going to be a bit streaky; you'll have to do several coats. I ended up doing three or four coats of paint.

Once all of my coats were painted on, I let the jar and lid dry.

I then applied a coat of mod podge to act as a sealant. After all, if you're out in the garage all day, you don't want the paint flaking from your stuff!

Once the mod podge was dry, I hot glued two googly eyes to the front of the jar.

I snapped the lid on, and there you have it! An fun and easy craft to make for Father's Day


Holiday Crafts

This craft is in the Holiday Crafts category, so be sure to check out the other projects I've made! One thing's for sure: the holidays are the time to get crafty!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page