top of page
Writer's pictureCraftygirl

Flower Wall Kid's Craft

Updated: Apr 30, 2020

This creative wall decoration will bring a little bit of Spring inside!

A lot of us aren't able to get out and enjoy this wonderful Spring weather because we're all stuck inside. So if you're pining for a touch of color, this bright and cheery bunch of flowers should do the trick!


What You Need

-cereal box or other thin cardboard

-scissors

-acrylic paint

-paintbrush

-differently colored sheets of tissue paper

-crayons or markers

-three black pipe cleaners

-masking tape

-glue stick


Instructions

The first thing I did was to paint the back of an old cereal box with green acrylic paint. Other thin cardboard could work, too, but you'll need to make sure you have enough for the length of your stem.

When the paint was dry, I cut the cardboard into different lengths.

I then used a glue stick to attach the stems to each other, and masking tape to attach the stem to the wall.

Next I folded a square of pink tissue paper into fourths.

I then cut a long sort of semicircle shape out of the folded paper.

I used a bit of glue from the glue stick to stick the four semicircles to each other at the edges with a square space in the middle.

I traced the empty space on a piece of cardboard, cut the square out, and colored it yellow using a crayon. I used a crayon because I like the way it looked, but you can alternatively use markers or paint, or even the it plain if you want.

Using the glue stick, I glued the edges of the square and stuck the tissue paper flower on top of it.

I stuck some masking tape loops to the back of an extra stem piece, as well as to each of the petals and the back of the center. I then stuck the whole thing to the wall, angling the stem to make it look like it was growing out of the main stem.

I took the two black pipe cleaner, twisted them together, and curled them into a spiral. I chose black because of the way it popped against the pink and yellow, but if you like you can choose a different color.

Using tiny pieces of masking tape, I attached the spiral to the center of the flower, and the first flower was done!

For the next flower, I took four identical squares of white tissue paper and folded them in half.

I sealed the corners with a little bit of glue from a glue stick. I glued one end of one rectangle and placed another end of a rectangle on top. I repeated until all the rectangles had been used.

I cut out a small circle out of blue tissue paper, and a slightly larger one out of pink tissue paper. I glued the pink circle to the center of the flower, and tI glued he blue circle on top of the pink one.

I stuck some masking tape to an extra piece of stem and the back of the flower, and stuck it to the wall just like the last flower, except I put this one lower down.

I folded a square of blue tissue paper into fourths and cut differently- sized petals out of each corner.

I then arranged the petals in a spiral, starting with the biggest petals and ending with the smallest ones. I then glued them down using a glue stick.

I attached a spare stem to the back and stuck the flower to the wall, in between the pink and white flowers.

For my final flower I folded a piece of red tissue paper into a thin, skinny line.

Next I rolled the strip up tightly and glued the end to the roll.

I took a lighter shade of red tissue paper, folded it into a slightly wider strip, and wrapped it around the existing roll, gluing to secure.

I took another piece of red tissue paper and rolled it around the roll, folding back the top of the strip slightly.

I bunched the bottom of the rose tightly with a black pipe cleaner.

Finally I used some masking tape to attach the rose to the top edge of the doorframe. Of course, if you're not constructing this near a doorway, you can just use an extra stem and attach it that way.

And there you have it! Lovely Spring decor for your walls!


Spring Crafts

This craft is in the Spring Craft category, so be sure to check out the projects I've made! One thing's for sure: Spring is the time to get crafty!




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page