top of page
Writer's pictureCraftygirl

Earth Day DIY Kid's Craft

Updated: May 2, 2020

This is a great project for the whole family to get involved with!

Happy Earth Day, everybody! In honor of today, I have a special Earth Day-themed project for you to try! Note: As you can clearly see, my because I bought my tree online, it was so much smaller than I had expected. Thus, I had to place it in a smaller pot until it gets big enough to transplant to my decorated pot. Also, please excuse the lighting in the photos. It was really dark outside due to the rain we've been having lately when I was trying to take pics.


What You Need

-large plastic planting pot

-acrylic paint

-paintbrush

-clear flat glass marbles

-hot glue gun

-potting soil

-trowel or something to dig with

-sapling or large plant


Instructions

The first thing I did was to wash and dry my plastic planting pot with hot water. This step is important both if you're reusing a pot or if you're buying one brand-new. It's always a good idea to rinse off your pot before you use it.

Next I painted the pot with a light green acrylic paint, leaving the rim unpainted. You can of course choose whatever color you wish. I just chose green for Earth Day.

After that, I hot glued the decorative glass marbles in a pattern on the outside of the pot. I also glued a chain of marbles along the rim.

I added the potting soil to my pot. I chose a sweet olive tea tree for several reasons, one of which being that they smell amazing when they bloom. The tea trees aren't actually olive trees, so they don't produce edible fruit, so make sure you know what you're getting before you buy. Because of the corona virus, I had to buy my sapling online. I discovered that you can buy a sweet olive tea tree for $4.99 with only $5.99 shipping from Walmart.com. Considering that prices have skyrocketed lately, I considered it a good deal. It took a little while, but when it arrived, I added some potting soil and dug a hole in the center.

I then added my sapling to the pot, which was looking great for being shut up in a box for so long. (It took eleven days for it to get here instead of two.) Frankly, I'm just glad it was still alive when I got it. That being said, my tree was quite pale, so I added more soil on top of it to keep it in place and located it in a spot where it could get full sun. And there you have it! A fun and easy DIY project for the whole family to make for Earth Day!

Holiday Crafts

This craft is in the Holiday Crafts category, so be sure to check out the other projects I've made! One thing's for sure: the holidays are the time to get crafty!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page