top of page
Writer's pictureCraftygirl

DIY Bike Makeover

Updated: Nov 1, 2019

If you have an old bike you know a neighbor or family member would benefit from, you can use this guide to make it cool enough for even the most skeptical kid who doesn't think a made-over bike is "good enough".

My little brother recently outgrew his old bike. I had an old one from when I was younger, but it was princess-themed, so I enlisted my family to help me DIY it into a boy's bike.


DIY Bike Makeover

I started this project by wrapping the part of the bike we wanted to keep blue in plastic sacks. Then we all took turns spray painting the girly purple parts of the bike with a white primer coat. We quickly learned to keep the spray paint can moving so we didn't make giant blobs of paint!


After we let the paint dry overnight, We rewrapped the blue part in masking tape because we found that the plastic bags stuck to the bike, making it almost impossible to get them off. Then we spray painted a glossy black over the primer.



We also added new rubber handlebars and a seat cushion, as the original seat was hard and also had a pink butterfly on it lol. You can imagine how much my brother wanted that butterfly on there. :)

And there you have it...a DIY Bike Makeover!


Summer Projects


This craft is in the Summer Projects Category, so be sure to check out the other projects I've made! One thing's for sure: summer is the time to get crafty!


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


bottom of page