top of page
Writer's pictureCraftygirl

Summer Sea Scapes Kid's Craft Diorama

This simple Kid's Craft is a really great way to pass a rainy day!

I came up with the idea for this diorama when my tree sapling for my Earth Day DIY project came in a long, skinny box stuffed with packing peanuts. A few modifications, and the Summer Sea Scapes Kid's Craft Diorama was born!


What You Need

-long, skinny cardboard box

-packing peanuts

-blue acrylic paint

-paintbrush

-decorative marbles (optional)

-hot glue gun

-red marker

-scissors


Instructions

The first thing I did was to turn the box on its side and cut all the flaps off of the box except for the one on the bottom.

Next, I painted a blue streak across the back of the box, making it uneven so it would look like a receding wave.

While the paint was drying, I hot glued a string of packing peanuts together.

I also hot glued two packing peanuts side by side to make a cloud. When I had made a few clouds, I hot glued them to the back of the wall near the top. I also hot glued a few single packing peanuts to the underside of the top of the box.

I hot glued some decorative marbles to the bottom of the box in front of the water to look like rocks. Later I added some more marbles for a rocky beach affect.

I cut out four small identical pieces of cardboard and cut out a door in one. I also cut out two small rectangles of cardboard.

I hot glued all four squares together. Then I hot glued the two rectangles on top of each other and trimmed them to the correct height. I also cut out a tiny cardboard triangle and colored it red with the marker. I then hot glued the triangle on top of the two rectangle.

I hot glued the sand castle to the bottom of the box in front of the water, placed the tower in the middle of the sand castle, and hot glued the tower to the box.

Finally, I hot glued the ends of the packing peanut strip the the bottom of the box, leaving the middle to ‘swell’ up and down like a real wave. And there you have it! An easy yet fun diorama to welcome back Summer!

Summer Crafts

This craft is in the Summer Crafts category, so be sure to check out the other projects I've made! One thing's for sure: the Summer is the time to get crafty!



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page