top of page
Writer's pictureCraftygirl

Spoons and Knives Wind chime Kids’ Craft

This fun craft is a great summer family project!

Enjoy this summer wind chime!

What You Need

-old utensils

-ribbon

-old plastic plate

-hot glue gun

- scissors

-ruler

-paper plate

-acrylic paint

-paintbrushes

-pen


Instructions

The first thing I did was to turn the plastic plate upside down so that the bottom of the plate was facing up. Next I loaded some acrylic paint onto a paintbrush and splatter painted the plate. Splatter painting is achieved by flicking the top of a paintbrush or a toothbrush to splatter paint all over the desired object. I then continued splatter painting in other colors until I was satisfied with how it looked.

While the paint was drying, I cut five lengths of ribbon to match the five old utensils I was going to use. I used a ruler to

make sure all the links were exactly 1 foot each. In the pic my ribbons are kinda curly, but they straightened out when I used them. Phew!

I then hot glued the ribbon to the backs of the utensils.

I took a ballpoint pen and punched five holes in a paper plate. To make sure the ribbon would fit, I enlarged the holes with the tip of my scissors.

I then pushed the ribbons through the holes and hot glued the ribbons to the back of the paper plate so that the spoons and knives would hang at different lengths. If the lengths of ribbons I glued to the plate were too long, I trimmed them.

Then I hot glued the bottom of the paper plate to the inside, non-painted part of the plastic plate. It fit nicely inside my plastic plate, but you might need to trim the paper plate if it doesn’t fit.

I flipped the plastic plate over so that the painted part lay face up and hot glued a water bottle cap to the exact center. If you don’t have a water bottle cap with a loop, just use something else, like a plastic cap with a hole punched in it. You can then string some ribbon through it and hot glue the cap to the plate. Problem solved! To make things easier on myself, I just used a water bottle lid with a plastic loop like shown in the photo below.

Finally, I strung a ribbon through the loop at the top of the lid and there you have it! A fun wind chime for hot summer days!


Summer Crafts

This craft is in the Summer Crafts category, so be sure check out the other projects I’ve made! One things for sure: summer is the time to get crafty!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page